Vienna Museum of Military History (Heeresgeschichtliches Museum) Part 2

Apologies Part 2 has been a long time coming and I hope I can recall enough of the detail

 

Not only were there superb wall paintings depicting battles in the Napoleonic era but there was as I’d hoped a lot of 18th century paintings and exhibits including this depiction of an encounter with what I presume are Turks or Ottomans

 

 

 

The museum webpage itself has a virtual tour http://www.panaustria.com/vt/110106/index.html here

These murals are a lovely introduction to the 18th Century room.There were so many superb exhibits its very difficult to know  what to show here

 

The following 2 pictures are linked with the first illustrating what is on display in the second

The metal work on these caps is extraordinary

In the third and final part I’ll put together a few photographs of what drew my eye in the Thirty Years war exhibit and some of the more modern rooms

About valleyboynz

A Welsh wargamer living in NZ
This entry was posted in Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vienna Museum of Military History (Heeresgeschichtliches Museum) Part 2

  1. Giles Allison says:

    Great photos, Kerry. I do like those paintings.

  2. Michael OBrien says:

    Excellent post, thank you …

  3. More wonderful pictures Valleyboyo. Thanks for posting them for our visual pleasure.

    I’m looking forward to the dive a bit further back in history to the Thirty Years War.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

Leave a comment