Vienna Museum of Military History (Heeresgeschichtliches Museum) Part I

The same Danube Cruise mentioned in my last post ended with a 3 day stay in Vienna. On one of these days I visited Vienna’s Military Museum http://www.hgm.at/en.html

I must say that this surpassed my expectations and is well worth a visit. The part of the museum whose exhibits were dedicated to the Napoleonic and 18th Century is what attracted me most but there is also a superb 30 yrs war section as well. Purchasing a photography licence was all of 2 euros I think and allowed me to photograph freely. The building itself is palatial with wonderful paintings adorning walls and ceilings as is so often the case in Vienna. It really was a lovely day out, within walking distance of our hotel and  I spent around 5 hrs there if I recall correctly. I took around 230 photographs and thought it would be of interest if I posted some here.

For this blog post,  I’ll confine myself to posting  photos of what I found of interest in the Napoleonic Period rooms only and hopefully with publish additional post of what mightbe of interest ion the other period rooms.

One thing I was struck by is the contrast between the white of an Austrian coat and the white of the cross belts.

Most of us who paint uniforms in white do not replicate this effect on our figures and neither generally would artists it would seem from this picture

The following pictures show some Austrian infantry and cavalry uniforms along with some equipment, standards and captured French eagles

 

 

 

This last infantry flag puzzled me as its labelled as the 1st Battalion of a 4th French infantry Brigade and the eagle shown in the above picture belonged to a regiment of French dragoons from 1804

When I have a little more time I’ll try and post pictures from the other rooms

About valleyboynz

A Welsh wargamer living in NZ
This entry was posted in Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vienna Museum of Military History (Heeresgeschichtliches Museum) Part I

  1. Chris Gregg says:

    A very interesting selection. Thank you for taking the trouble – look forward to your 18th century photos 🙂

  2. Hello Valleyboyo

    I’m happy that this visitation turned out to be so excellent. Maybe I’ll get there one day.

    Being able to buy a licence to photograph is great as it means you can photograph! It would have been nice if they removed some of that glass though! 😃

    I don’t suppose you have any pictures of Napoleonic Austrian jagers. A picture might help the grey/blue discussions .. and I have a unit of them awaiting pigmentation at some stage.

    I’m hoping that you do get the time to post some of the other rooms. Hint hint … the Seven Years War room might be fun. 👌

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  3. Paul Provan says:

    I didn’t know you had a blog VB, great post!!!

  4. Chasseur says:

    Great pictures thanks!

  5. Pingback: Partizan 2023 and Travels | VALLEYBOY'S WARGAMES

Leave a comment