The Italian Wars collection – so far

I’m not sure when I started painting Italian wars figures, probably around 13 years ago I think. Anyway I thought I ought to get all my Italian wars painted figures on the table. Its really been a slow-burn project with good recent progress. The initial attraction was kindled by seeing those early pictures in Wargames Illustrated in the 80s and I took the plunge when Artizan brought out their Landsknecht range about 13 years ago. I’ve been adding units slowly but recently finished off a large quantity of cavalry. I’m still not sure where I’m going with this, I think I’ll add another 3 units of Milanese foot from Perry Miniatures, paint up some more generic crossbowmen and add some more heavy cavalry for the imperialist side. Lots of questions remain – do I have enough cannon? I know I need to get more flags particularly for the Old Glory Landsknecht and I’ll work on changing flags for what is now the OG French Pike. Will Perry miniatures plastic knights look out of place here?

Eureka Gendarmes in the foreground
On the other side 4 Colunellas of Artizan Designs Spanish foot, 24 pike, 12 sword & buckler and 12 Arquebus
Bright heavy cavalry – what’s not to love about the Italian wars!

Next thing I need to do is get myself sorted rules wise, get some flags on the OG Landsknecht and find a way of using temporary or removable flags so the OG ‘French” pike can become generic. I have a few more light cavalry from Casting Room Miniatures to paint along with some Perry plastics which will include a lot of generic missile troops and then 3 more units of Milanese and I might be finally done.

About valleyboynz

A Welsh wargamer living in NZ
This entry was posted in 28mm Gendarmes, Artizan Designs, Casting Room Miniatures, Eureka miniatures, Italian wars 28mm, Landsknecht, Old Glory Miniatures, Perry Miniatures, Renaissance, Wargames Foundry, Warlord Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Italian Wars collection – so far

  1. TWR says:

    Very impressive miniatures!

  2. Simon Tonkiss says:

    what a beautiful collection. absolutely splendid work !

  3. atheling2020 says:

    What a superb collection! such a highly impressive level of staying power no matter how long you have taken to collect these beauties.

  4. Count Belisarius says:

    That’s an outstanding collection!

  5. That is quite the sight! I get way too distracted to keep to a project for as long as you have, but one day maybe!

  6. fantastic collection, excellent work

Leave a comment