Victrix Plastic Fantastic & Footsore Valleyboys – Off the workbench August 2023

Just a quick post I think to highlight a few more wanderings. At the moment I’ve made a start on another Spanish Colunella for the Italian Wars, it would be good to make another inroad into the Italian wars project. I’m finding it hard to concentrate on one period again at the moment but have about 48 Artizan Designs figures just started. I think this unit will largely be a mix of red and yellows.

I’m pleased to have finally painted some SYW Austrian artillery, its a project that has lost all its impetus I’m afraid and my feeling is that I need to get it finished and then consider selling them off as I seem to need the space

Crusader Miniatures Austrian SYW artillery
The artillery pieces are all from Fife & Drum Miniatures

Next up the Plastic Fantastic that are Victrix Miniatures. This pack of Norman infantry is very good value at 60 figures/pack. I’m a little worried that the spears might prove to be brittle but I’ve not broken one yet.

It’s not easy to get 6 figures on a 60 x 60mm base so some are in fives

The figures are so nice I’ve just bought 2 packs of cavalry and a pack of the new crossbowmen

There are a nice variety of poses and mix of armoured and unarmoured
Plus the odd dodgy haircut!

I’ve managed to get 8 bases with 5 or 6 figures /base and another 18 on individual bases. The 2 basing styles reflect my uncertainty about what I’m going to do rule wise.

My thought are that I can use these with Lion Rampant, NMTBH variants, TTS or Hail Caesar to take on Saxons, Vikings, be used to supplement El Cid and even Crusaders. I also like the idea of them taking on my newly painted Footsore Welsh, my Valleyboys

Footsore Miniatures Early Medieval Welsh cavalry from the Kickstarter I backed
I’ve not made a start on the foot yet
Y Ddraig goch!
Nothing like a bit of tartan
I got carried away and painted them all differently in the end
well I figured that they would be well dressed being the Hearthguard after all

The more I look at Mediaeval figures the more I like what I see, there are some superb figures out there with the added bonus of lovely flags. The problem is that as I paint I’ve been listening to too many Medieval based historical fiction audiobooks. I find myself wanting to do it all- the Barons war, 100YW, WOTR, Longshanks in Wales and Scotland, Normans is Sicily….

About valleyboynz

A Welsh wargamer living in NZ
This entry was posted in Dark Ages, Footsore Miniatures, Just off the Workbench, medieval, Seven Years War, Victrix Miniatures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Victrix Plastic Fantastic & Footsore Valleyboys – Off the workbench August 2023

  1. Nice. Victrix have a brilliant range and are very detailed. I haven’t had any issues with the spears

  2. Fantastic work on all of these. Apologies if I missed it – what scale are these?

  3. valleyboynz says:

    Thanks Victrix are 28mm as are Footsore and Crusader Miniatures

  4. Carlo says:

    Very nice Kerry. I’m sure you wouldn’t have too many dramas with those lovely SYW Austrians finding a new home mate . Take care.

  5. Chris Gregg says:

    What beautiful looking Medieval figures, you have done a great job. The kind of size games you are aiming at makes me think for rules you could at least take a look at “On Bloody Ground”. Not forgetting yours truly gets a tiny royalty on sales for my illustrations http://notjustoldschool.blogspot.com/2023/05/on-bloody-ground-cover-art-for-new.html

    • valleyboynz says:

      Thanks Chris – I shall have another look, the problem is that painting is such a joy but when I open a set of rules I just seem to always glaze over , and regrettably I never seem to be able to overcome that stupor despite my best intentions and repeated efforts to motivate myself – I have rule block where others have painting block!

      • Chris Gregg says:

        Kerry I totally get that glazed over feeling. The answer is to write your own rules, start simple and just build on them as you go along.

Leave a comment