English Civil War – Royalist Infantry

Well with the Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge now over and a rainy day today I find myself with some time on my hands. Now idle hands lead to mischief so rather than get up to this I thought I would drop in a quick post.

Its about time I documented the progress of my Royalist ECW infantry to date, I haven’t gone for any particular OOB just some regiments that drew my eye

The Royalist infantry so far

The first three Regiments are from Empress Miniatures

Allan Aplsey’s Regiment
Edward Stradling’s regiment of Foot
Anthony Thellwell’s Regiment

The next few are from First Corps Miniatures

This is a generic regiment not representing any particular regiment
are The same regiment minus the command stand to show the pike that are just a little fiddly to glue with epoxy
Colonel John Talbot’s Regiment
Lord Hopton’s Regiment
The Duke of York’s regiment

This time another generic regiment from Warlord Games – these are plastic and I can’t really say I enjoyed painting them

Again another generic regiment, not many flags on these

The last two are Bicorne Miniatures Figures

Charles Gerard’d Regiment
Bicorne Pikes can be glued to the base
The King’s Lifeguard
I really like the Musketeers at order pose, I think its my favourite
Running away?
Flags from Flags of War

This just leaves me one regiment of Foot to paint as I have flags for John Lamplugh’s Regiment of Foot and this will be another from Bicorne Miniatures. I have also finished the Pike on another generic Warlord Regiment but I need a few extra command for these and a hefty dose of enthusiasm to tackle the musketeers

After this my aim is to quietly make a start of some Parliamentarian infantry next, I have 3 regiments of Empress Miniatures undercoated to date along with some artillery, dragoons and I think 2 or 3 regiments of cavalry. However having just splashed out on some Perry Miniatures Stradiots for the Italian Wars and more Footsore Barons War, Normans and Vikings I’m going to wait a little before hammering the credit card again

About valleyboynz

A Welsh wargamer living in NZ
This entry was posted in Bicorne Miniatures, ECW, Empress Miniatures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to English Civil War – Royalist Infantry

  1. Doug says:

    Lovely work so far. Another period I look at, have tons of plastic for, and think.. do I really need another period. Seeing your figures makes it very tempting.

    • valleyboynz says:

      Thanks Doug -I’ve always wanted to do ECW and am finally getting around to it- I think if you enjoy painting as you do giving into the temptation would not be a bad thing

      • Doug says:

        Temptation is fine – it’s just that there are so many other things I could and should be doing, and those I have rules for!

  2. More wonderful visions valleyboyo. A great credit as always to your talents and perseverance. 😃

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  3. Carlo says:

    Looks fantastic Kerry. I had ECW there for awhile and regret selling them, even more so now having seen yours. You’ve been very busy.

Leave a comment