Royalist ECW Army – off the wokbench

I suppose apart from helping to keep the country safe there aren’t too many enjoyable or positive things that one could say about level 4 and now level 3 lock-down here in New Zealand. It has meant a change in that I have been working though with the week split into two parts – working from home during the first half and then at my GP practice in the back half of the week. This means that I’ve been getting home earlier in the evening and this coupled with no golf I’ve had a little more painting time

So just off the workbench is another Royalist ECW unit

Lord Hopton’s Regiment of foot – figures from First Corps https://1stcorps.co.uk/ ECW range and flags by Flags of War https://www.flagsofwar.com/collections/ecw-royalist.

This takes the number of Foot Regiments painted to date to be 3 from Empress Miniatures, 3 from First Corps and one each from Bicorne Miniatures and one from Warlord Games.

You might notice that I’ve also used more conventional bases from warbases this time rather than those with the crinkle edge from the Big Red Bat shop this time as I’d run out. I also find myself wondering if I should be using more musketeers on those bases as they look a bit thin on the ground. Time to buy more figures I think!

About valleyboynz

A Welsh wargamer living in NZ
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Royalist ECW Army – off the wokbench

  1. Very picturesque valleyboyo. Another fine batch of figures amongst some prime olde English real estate.

    Have you had any thoughts on rules?

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    • valleyboynz says:

      Thank you Your Enemanence – buildings were te old TSS flat packed ones, now long since OOP. As for rules my inspiration and impetus has come from Simon Millars For King & Parliament

  2. atheling2020 says:

    Lovely work mate.

    May I ask, which rules are you planning on using, that is, if you have a particular set in mind?

    I ask as I’ve been procrastinating over whether to “go big” with the units with For King and Parliament “smaller” with Victory without Quarter.

    • valleyboynz says:

      Thanks Darrell, there’s only one way for me and that’s go big so am looking at FK&P which I think will be grid manageable because my boards are old tarted up TSS terrain. I’m hoping this will work for Italian wars as well and was really interested by your recent Spanish unit

      • atheling2020 says:

        Thanks. I’m stil humming and haring. Perhaps I can find a way of basing them up for both with a little experimentation(?) 🙂

  3. Chris Gregg says:

    Love this lot, and I’m not an ECW buff, they just look so natural in that setting and beautifully painted. Thanks for showing them. Chris

  4. Pete S/ SP says:

    Those look lovely.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

  5. valleyboynz says:

    Thanks Pete, at least they’re quicker than painting Napoleonics!

  6. Carlo Pagano says:

    Very impressive array of regiments Kerry. You’re output is always bloody impressive. Hope you and yours are staying safe and sound in paradise mate.

  7. Those look absolutely great!

Leave a comment