Vienna Museum of Military History (Heeresgeschichtliches Museum) Part 3

Probably about time too because I know a few mates have been waiting to see some of the Thirty Years War exhibits!

I started writing this post the day after I came home from hospital after a bit  of a “figure conversion” myself in the shape of a spinal fusion. I’m now into my fifth week post op and feeling very well. Prior to the op I’d been busy trying to finish last minute jobs around home and garden.  The original draft read “Now with the prospect of 6 weeks off work I hope to manage to post a little more often, starting perhaps with rundown of what I’ve finished painting recently (VBCW types)and what I intend to make start on next (SYW  Prussian cavalry). While my last post detailing the Prussian SYW army so far does confirm I’ve not been too inactive I can see that I’m way short of my goals. But that’s another story and hopefully the subject of the next post.

One of the problems about posting a third part to the Vienna Museum visit is the time delay involved, we were there in April so perhaps its no great surprise I have forgotten a great deal about what I saw! I do however recall being hugely impressed by the scale of what was being shown. Here a re a few pictures

Pretty ornate or pretty and ornate even!. Now for something more basic

The original smiley face is on the left

I can’t see this one smiling though – ouch……..

Presumably a selection of Ottoman weapons and paraphenalia

The ceiling was adorned by some superb shields

 

 

I think the most moving item though was this painting of the”Battery of the dead” depicting the annihilation of an Austrian horse battery at the battle of Konnigratz

And finally the vehicle in which Archduke Franz Ferdinand was assassinated leading to the start of the Great War

A museum well and truly worth visiting

About valleyboynz

A Welsh wargamer living in NZ
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vienna Museum of Military History (Heeresgeschichtliches Museum) Part 3

  1. ubiquematt says:

    Very interesting photos. Just about to start making up a few cuirassiers so the references will be useful, thanks.

  2. Thank you for the photos vb. Most interesting. Perhaps I’ll get there myself one day.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  3. Chris Gregg says:

    Thank you for this whole interesting series. Good to hear you are feeling better. I’m not into 17th century, much but the later period horse battery at Koniggratz painting is astounding. I get away with bit of blood in my battle scenes but that is rather realistic, conveying the horror and helplessness as well as the gore.

Leave a Reply

