Dark Ages test post

Dark Ages is probably a fitting subject for this trial – it is after all about the level of my computing skills though I have moved one from early days where I thought it might be a good idea to use tippex on errors typed on my computer screen

I don’t know much about this blogging stuff so I thought I might try and post some old Photobucket pictures on here as I have accumulated a large number of them over the years. I see an advantage in not having to load them in the library here but link them directly from that site. I thought that if that worked I wouldn’t have to hunt old pictures down in the various nooks and crannies of my hard drive either. Problem is I can’t seem to get it to work so back to loading the library here

I’ve built up two dark age forces or projects over the past 2 or 3 years. One is skirmish based and used for Dux Britanniarum , the other are based more conventionally. The latter consist of a mix of figures. I started with Artizan Designs Arthurian range, later adding in some Saxons from Black Tree Design and both metal and plastic figures from Gripping Beast. As opponents I’ve been collecting and painting units from both GB and Artizan. I’ve played one game to date using Hail Caesar or “Heil Squeezer” rules as I’ve come to know them.

Here are the Artizan Arthurian figures. Needles to say I’ve used shield transfers and standards from LBSM

Armoured infantry

Artizan Design Armoured Arthurians

Artizan Design Armoured Arthurians

Unarmoured Infantry

Artizan Unarmoured infantry

 

Artizan Characters/Command

 

???????????????????????????????

 

Gripping Beast Plastic Saxons

GB Plastic Saxons

GB Plastic Saxons

 

Rather uninspiring GB Ceorls

Gripping Beast Ceorls

 

Blacktree Saxon Archers

BT Saxon archers

 

And finally some Artizan Vikings and GB plastic Vikings

Artizan Vikings

GB plastic Vikings

At some stage I’ll try and put up pictures of the Dux Britanniarum figures that are a mixture of Westwind, Musketeer and  few Gripping Beast Heroes

 

 

 

 

About valleyboynz

A Welsh wargamer living in NZ
This entry was posted in Dark Ages and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dark Ages test post

  1. Giles Allison says:

    Terrific stuff, Kerry, as always. I really like this collection of yours (especially having seen it “live” in action) and admire the well-thought way in which you put it together.

    Best wishes

    Giles

    • valleyboynz says:

      Thanks Giles
      I really need to finish it off I suppose but getting the time is a problem as there are so many other projects that seem to be in the wings. What I’d really like to do is get masses of Romano British from Musketeer, Westwind and Artizan and have a 6×5 table filled from one side to the other – I shall dream on and paint on as I’m currently working on 15mm ACW

Leave a Reply

